Bikes: seized gear cables

The aim was to get the 3 gears on the big cog working. Somewhere between gear lever and er the thing that moves the cogs, something was seized. The most I can say is I learned a lot. I probably need to buy new gear cables and “outers”, which are the sleeve surrounding the wire at certain points, but for right now, at least having 2 of the 3 gears working on the big cog is enough. This by the way is my city/hybrid bike – my road bike does not have 10 or so years of grime between any gear cables and the outer. I am done for this weekend.

citybike01

Leave a Reply

