Music: drum programming

I found a wav drum track that I liked, and wanted to work out the basic rhythms. This is an extract slowed down first to 60 bpm, to understand the structure, followed by 128 bpm, the true speed:

And this is my rendering, which I freely accept is rubbish next to that. But I decided to put fidelity to the original on one side, as it was hard enough to work out the elements of the beat. Once slowed down, it becomes clear..ish that there is basically a big kick every crotchet, with some claps syncopating over that. The big extras that I don’t have are a) the sustain on the drum, with I suspect a bass guitar or synth playing at the same, and b) the varying pitch of the claps. All in good time…

And the midi file I made.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

