Language: how we write

Stephen Pinker writes, entre autres¹, about language and linguistics. On Kindle, I’ve been reading his latest, The Sense of Style… and it has made me examine my own writing style. Amongst other areas, he talks about the Curse of Knowledge, and how it leads to lazy assumptions about what your target audience already knows, even to the point of knowing that the meaning of a given phrase is known only to a very small section of your peer group, and will therefore be a complete mystery to your wider audience, as they wait for the definition… which never comes. It’s on Kindle for £7. Well worth a read:

SOfStyle01

¹ I’m sorry, I just couldn’t help myself!

Leave a Reply

