Music: VSTs and Reaper

Having bought a bunch of VSTs last year, I’m doing precious little this year about making use of them. To the extent that on my rebuilt laptop, I’ve been struggling to remember where I used to store them before.

In fact I was making it harder than was necessary, at least in the case of XLN Addictive Keys, the Piano VST I bought last year.

Step 1: decide on where you will save your plug-ins, if you get the chance (“get the chance” meaning from the VST installer programs, not Reaper). The 2 locations are respectively for 64-bit and 32-bit versions… or maybe I have that the wrong way round.

C:\Program Files\VstPlugins;C:\Program Files (x86)\VstPlugins

Reaper01png

Step 2: Given I can no see chance in the above menu to do so, when inserting your virtual instrument track in Reaper, get it to scan for added plug-ins (in fact I’ve just noticed the Re-scan above, but it doesn’t give me the feedback I’d like that):

Reaper02

With that done, your plug-in(s) should appear:

Reaper03

Reaper04

By the way, the name of the DLL for Addictive Keys is :[Addictive Keys.dll], kind of predictably, but Windows Search just wasn’t making life easy.

Bit of PowerShell to help:

PS C:\Users\Dennis> cd \
PS C:\> gci -Recurse -Path .\add*key*dll -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

FindFiles01

My VSTs

While I’m at it, I may as well note the VSTs I currently have (July 2015):

Cakewalk products:

  • Digital Sound Factory Vol 1 Grand Piano Expansion
  • Digital Sound Factory Vol 8 Guitars and Basses
  • Dimension Pro 1.5
  • Z3TA+ 2
Leave a Reply

