Windows Azure

The news that the dedicated performance team I work in, is disbanded, with immediate effect, is a little disheartening.

I’ll resurrect my Windows Azure account from my MSDN subscription (thank you, employer), and make some use of that: you get £100 of credit, or so, a month, with VSU.

So since I last looked, there seem to be some indications that they have thought harder about the interface… we shall see. I downloaded Windows Powershell for Azure.

WindowsAzure01

WindowsAzure02

WindowsAzure03

WindowsAzure04

So now of course, having installed Windows Azure Powershell, I have absolutely no idea where it is installed:

WindowsAzure05

Sure, I can start typing Powershell, but that is deeply dissatisfying. But in the end, that is what I do…

WindowsAzure06

 

I’ve set up a Windows 8.1 VM with VSU (with all of the images, you can drill into them)…

WindowsAzure07

 

, with a certain amount of RAM:

WindowsAzure14

 

 

Coming back to PowerShell, and starting it up…

WindowsAzure09

Lots of stuff…

WindowsAzure10

Looks handy…

WindowsAzure11

… because that is pretty much what the GUI is telling me:

WindowsAzure12

Interesting: since I last looked, the name has changed:

WindowsAzure13

Coming back to PowerShell, let’s just do something writey, and prove it worked. From the example:

WindowsAzure15
So we’ll do that (in fact, above is not quite the example I intended):

Stop-AzureVM -ServiceName “myservice1” -Name “MyVM” -StayProvisioned

And turning that into our specific case:

Stop-AzureVM -ServiceName “DennisCloud” -Name “DennisVSU81” -StayProvisioned

 Quite pretty…

 

WindowsAzure16

In fact, this is quite impressive: I am running PowerShell on my local machine, the VMs are on Azure, in the Cloud, so presumably it is accessing my VMs via credentials.

Intriguing: I logged out of my Azure account, and I can still run the Stop-Azure command above. I then stopped and restarted the PowerShell shell, and I can still get in. That all feels a bit inconsistent: if I have to log into the GUI, why don’t I have to log into PS?

I stopped these 2 services (VaultSvc, vmms)… just because they looked like they might control matters: yet still I can run the Stop-Azure service:

WindowsAzure17

Bed.

fin

A lot of this seems to have changed in 3 months. Having hit errors on practically every one of the above commands, I found this sensible post which suggests first logging in on PowerShell for Azure using the command Add-AzureAccount, which does all the authentication, and returns your credentials.

Azure04So now it’s 24 hours later. Since then, I’ve logged out, or rather I put the PC to sleep. I have not logged into or out of Azure. So a Get-AzureVM returns me this:

Azure06

, meaning evidently that the credentials hang around. Fine, I guess.

Now if I start my VMs…

Start-AzureVM -Name Den-VSU13-SSD -ServiceName Den-VSU13-SSD

Azure07, all is sweet.

So far, we have these commands:

Add-AzureAccount
Get-AzureVM
Stop-AzureVM -Name Den-VSU13-SSD -ServiceName Den-VSU13-SSD
Start-AzureVM -Name Den-VSU13-SSD -ServiceName Den-VSU13-SSD

In order to see what that looks like at the Management Portal, or whatever they’re calling it, I have again shut down the VM, but left it provisioned:

Azure08 You then get a warning from the Management Portal that you will continue to incur charges if you shut down from the client. Not sure what they mean – as far as I can see based on the depletion of my credit, I have not been charged during the downtime.

 

 

dfg

 

Leave a Reply

